Fight Club Forum Index
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
TS down?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Reply to topic    Fight Club Forum Index » Forum/TS Issues View previous topic
View next topic
TS down?
Author Message
brune
BR (Barrel Rank) 6
BR (Barrel Rank) 6


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 6445
Location: Beaverlick, Kentucky, USA

Post Reply with quote
I have used both vent and mumble, vent is ok but can be overcomplicated, mumble is cheap and cheerful. TS always seemed the best out of the 3 though.

_________________


Thu Aug 08, 2013 10:12 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BuggerLugs
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 18742
Location: not L**ds

Post Reply with quote
so whats the best alternative that includes an overlay ?

_________________
Thu Aug 08, 2013 11:39 am View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Kirbs
BR (Barrel Rank) 5
BR (Barrel Rank) 5


Joined: 21 Feb 2004
Posts: 1563
Location: Herts, UK

Post Reply with quote
I don't think its the software considering TS3 is pretty much the defacto standard for voice gaming. I would think its more a case of switching provider.

I use multiplay to host my 50 slot voice server which runs the latest versions and I've never had any issues with them. I'm able to run the Opus voice codec at 10 voice quality and its brilliant. Perhaps it would be worth switching provider.

Alternatively I don't mind people using my server either.
Thu Aug 08, 2013 12:03 pm View user's profile Send private message
brune
BR (Barrel Rank) 6
BR (Barrel Rank) 6


Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 6445
Location: Beaverlick, Kentucky, USA

Post Reply with quote
BuggerLugs wrote:
so whats the best alternative that includes an overlay ?


Buy a 2nd monitor! overlay? that's so 2003 :P

_________________


Thu Aug 08, 2013 2:16 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BuggerLugs
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 18742
Location: not L**ds

Post Reply with quote
a second ? lol
surely a gamer would want either one or three

_________________
Thu Aug 08, 2013 4:16 pm View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Tenz
BR (Barrel Rank) 5
BR (Barrel Rank) 5


Joined: 30 Jun 2005
Posts: 2493
Location: Kent, UK

Post Reply with quote
brune wrote:
BuggerLugs wrote:
so whats the best alternative that includes an overlay ?


Buy a 2nd monitor! overlay? that's so 2003 :P


Sacrifice fps to run a second screen?! Heretic!

_________________
It's 106 miles to Naum, we've got a Skyguard, a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it's dark and the gunner's wearing sunglasses
Thu Aug 08, 2013 4:48 pm View user's profile Send private message
Veranmis
BR (Barrel Rank) 5
BR (Barrel Rank) 5


Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 2682
Location: Den Helder, the Netherlands

Post Reply with quote
Faithless wrote:
I would think its more a case of switching provider.

The server I had with a different provider while ours was massivly unstable didnt seem to have problems so maybe...

_________________

Thu Aug 08, 2013 5:33 pm View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
OmegrAve
BR (Barrel Rank) 3
BR (Barrel Rank) 3


Joined: 28 Dec 2012
Posts: 387
Location: Netherlands & Germany

Post Reply with quote
Mumble. It has a simple overlay that's a lot easier and more pleasant to set up than the TS3 one. It's also cheap. I run a small server from verygames.co.uk - you can resize the server on the fly with them.

_________________
Thu Aug 08, 2013 7:27 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Reignman83
BR (Barrel Rank) 4
BR (Barrel Rank) 4


Joined: 22 Nov 2008
Posts: 520
Location: Mississippi, U.S.A

Post Reply with quote
No matter where we go, what host we have, or what type we use, there are going to be issues. Each one has their pros and cons. Nothing is 100% guaranteed

My TS server is located in the NY/NJ area, and we had issues the other night with the same people getting repeatedly losing connection. We left mumble because there were issues towards the end where people would not be visible to others, but they could be heard. The server would also move some people to another channel for no reason. Things are going to happen, like I said, nothing is guaranteed.

Like I posted, my TS server is available to use in a pinch if we need it. I also have a Mumble server that gets no use, and you are free to try that out if you wish. It's set for 10 users only right now, but like OmegrAve said, it can be upgraded almost instantly. If you want the details, let me know.

Another option, Razer has a voice comms that is in beta right now, free to use. http://www.razerzone.com/comms?src=pgm.81594800
I have a server on there as well, and we can try that out if you want.

We just need to remember, nothing is guaranteed to have an uptime of 100%.

_________________
O
[\\__O
/\ JJ \\
Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:32 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger ICQ Number
Masacre
BR (Barrel Rank) 4
BR (Barrel Rank) 4


Joined: 21 Jan 2012
Posts: 687
Location: A northern freezing hell hole

Post Reply with quote
Of course there will be issues. I don't think anyone is expecting an uptime of 100%. But the current host/software is having issues every other night and that is a bit pants. I am up for trying out any other option, they all work imo.
Sun Aug 11, 2013 11:39 pm View user's profile Send private message
BuggerLugs
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 18742
Location: not L**ds

Post Reply with quote
downtime seems to be wankers using DDoS attacks still. I've asked if they've got a plan to resolve these.

_________________
Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:22 pm View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Tiger313
BR (Barrel Rank) 5
BR (Barrel Rank) 5


Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 1759
Location: Haarlem, the Netherlands

Post Reply with quote
A DDoS attack against a company is a criminal offence, so they better have police cybercrime unit involved. I used to chat on an IRC network, which was legally owned by a software company. They got DDoS-ed bad and they had the FBI involved. Eventually they found out who was doing it, and said person went to pick up the soap for Big Bubba in prison for a couple of years.

_________________
Tue Aug 13, 2013 5:58 am View user's profile Send private message
Tiger313
BR (Barrel Rank) 5
BR (Barrel Rank) 5


Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 1759
Location: Haarlem, the Netherlands

Post Reply with quote
TS seems down again atm.

_________________
Mon Sep 02, 2013 5:24 pm View user's profile Send private message
BuggerLugs
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 18742
Location: not L**ds

Post Reply with quote
just been on, worked ok

_________________
Mon Sep 02, 2013 5:37 pm View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Tiger313
BR (Barrel Rank) 5
BR (Barrel Rank) 5


Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 1759
Location: Haarlem, the Netherlands

Post Reply with quote
Getting this:

<19:42:51> Trying to connect to server on [IPnumberhere]:[Portnumberhere]
<19:42:56> Failed to connect to server

_________________
Mon Sep 02, 2013 5:38 pm View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    Fight Club Forum Index » Forum/TS Issues All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 4 of 5

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Vjacheslav Trushkin / Easy Tutorials (Photoshop Tutorials).